Register of Deeds Bookmark and ShareContact Us
Department Home Department Home Page    Marriage License Requirements Search  

Marriage License

  • Fee for Marriage License is $60.  We accept cash or checks only.  No debit or credit cards accepted.  A marriage license purchased in the Register of Deeds office of any county in NC is valid statewide.  Applicants may be married anywhere in NC but the license must be returned to the county of issuance.  License is valid for 60 days from date of issue.
  • Both applicants must provide identification and Social Security numbers or a notarized affidavit that states "I have not been issued a social security number by the US government and I am not eligible to obtain one."
  • Both applicants must appear to apply for marriage license.
Identification Requirements
  • All applicants must present a current driver's license or picture ID, valid passport, INS registration or certified copy of birth certificate.  If you have never been issued a social security number from the United States you will need to provide two forms of government issued ID.
  • Marriage license will be issued in the name as it appears on identification.
  • Applicants who are 16-17 years old must have consent from a parent with full or joint custody or a person, agency or institution having legal custody or serving as legal guardian of the applicant.  Documentation of custody, if applicable, must be presented at the time of application.
  • Applicants who are 14-15 years old must present a certified copy of a court order issued by a district court judge authorizing the marriage.
  • Divorced applicants must provide the month and year of their last divorce.  If the divorce was finalized within 30 days of applying for the license, the applicant must provide an original or certified copy of the divorce decree as well.  There is no waiting period between the divorce an applying for the new license.
-Applicants may apply for marriage licenses between 8:00 and 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday.
-The license is good immediately upon issuance and is valid for 60 days.
-The fee for the license is $60.00.  Check or Cash will be accepted. 
-Allow at least 20 to 30 minutes to process.
-The Officiant is required to return both completed copies of the marriage license within 10 days of the ceremony.
-Certified copies can only be issued after return of the completed license.

Who may perform a marriage in North Carolina?  Ordained minister of any religious denomination, Minister authorized by a church or Magistrate.  There is no licensing or registration of someone to perform a marriage.  Whether someone is  "ordained" or "authorized" is a matter of their status with their religious organizations.  We have no official way of confirming whether someone meets any of these characteristics.
Additionally, the statute provides that a marriage can be performed by anyone "[i]n accordance with any mode of solemnization recognized by any religious denomination, or federally or State recognized Indian Nation or Tribe." 

Marriage License
Open to the Public?  Yes
Fees?  $60.00 to issue Marriage License
Description:
Issue Marriage License to those who are legally eligible to marry in North Carolina.

Locations and Phone Numbers
Register of Deeds
203 West 2nd Street
Lexington, NC  27292
Availability:
8:00:00 AM - 4:30:00 PM
Map    Directions
Call (336) 242-2150 between 8:00:00 AM and 4:30:00 PM
Calling Directions: NA

* Phone Numbers are displayed only for services open to the public.




 
Digital Counties 2012 Winner Davidson County Government | 913 Greensboro Street | Lexington, NC 27292 | Phone: (336) 242-2000
Privacy Statement | Website Disclaimer
Digital Counties 2012 Winner