Carry Concealed Weapons Permit
Pistol Permit Applications & Concealed Carry Handgun Applications
Applications for handgun permits are accepted at the Sheriff's Office from Monday to Thursday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. by appointment only (excluding holidays). Call 336-242-2071 or 336-242-2804 to schedule an appointment.
Do to a large volume of CCH renewals in the coming months all renewal applicants will be required to schedule an appointment for appropriate processing of the CCH packet.
Please print and complete all (5) forms to the left for a Concealed Handgun Application, for Pistol Permits click here: Pistol Permit Application.
Do not sign the application upon completion. All applications for pistol permits must be signed in front of Sheriff's Office personnel.
Concealed Carry Permit Fees
Concealed Carry Permit fees include:
- Cash only
- Each concealed carry handgun permit is $90
- If permit is expired (in grace period) renewal is $90
- Renewal application is $75
Pistol Permit Fees
Pistol Permit fees include:
- Cash or Credit
- Each permit is $5 (up to 3 permits per day)
- Unlimited per year
- Valid for 5 years
Application requirements include:
- If discharged from the military, must provide a copy of your DD-214, indicating an Honorable Discharge
- Must apply in person
- Must authorize mental background check
- Must be 21 years of age or older
- Must be eligible to own, possess or receive a firearm under State or Federal Law
- Must be a resident of Davidson County
- Must have successfully completed an approved firearms training course and provide the original certificate with application. The certificate is valid for 5 years from completion of class
- Must pass criminal history background check
- Must provide complete set of legible fingerprints (taken at application)
- Must provide current/valid identification (North Carolina drivers license or North Carolina identification card)
- Must provide proof of citizenship if born outside the United States
Processing may take up to 45 days after the mental health background check is completed. If the applicant is denied, the applicant will be notified in writing, stating the reason for denial. An applicant may appeal the denial, revocation or non-renewal of a permit.