Bus Policy & Safety
How to Plan a Trip
Davidson County Transportation System offers both Deviated Route Service as well as paratransit services.
Deviated Route Services
Deviated Route Services mean that we can go up to 1/4 mile off of the bus route for any passenger, please call to make a request or to check if your location is within deviation range at 800-588-7787
Paratransit services include (but are not limited to):
- Transportation for employment
- Transportation to DCCC
- Trips to Medical Appointments
Additional Transportation Requests
If you are wanting to schedule a trip to visit your doctor and you have medicaid, please call: Medicaid Transportation at 336-242-2272.
If you are 60 years or older, please call: Senior Transportation at 336-242-2947.
For any other transportation questions or requests please call the PART call center at 800-588-7787.
Rules of the Bus
- A child must weigh 40 pounds to ride without a 5-point car seat
- Anyone under the influence of drugs or alcohol may be denied transportation
- Do not harass or disturb driver or other riders (includes with words, actions or odors)
- Do not take up more than one seat
- No alcoholic beverages
- No cursing or foul language
- No eating, smoking, or drinking
- No littering
- No loud music
- Respect transit property
- Respect other passengers' privacy
- Use the DCTS bus for transportation purposes only
- You must secure all of your belongings
Anyone in violation of the rules listed above may be asked to leave the bus.
Children & Minors
- Clients with children are responsible for their care and conduct. The DCTS Driver will direct all requests to the parent or guardian should the transportation of the child become a safety issue.
- DCTS does not transport children under the age of 14 without the accompaniment of an adult.
- Passengers needing mobility aids, i.e. wheelchairs, walkers, child car seats, must provide their own equipment.
Children Under 16
The North Carolina Child Passenger Safety Law requires children less than age 16 to be properly restrained in an age, weight, and height appropriate restraint. Passengers age 16 and older are covered by the North Carolina Seat Belt Law.
The law requires that any child restraint must be used correctly according to the manufacturers instructions. The law does not specify which type of car seat can be used at any age or weight, only that the seat is used properly in accordance with the manufacturers instructions and meets all Federal Safety Standards in place when the seat was manufactured. Every car seat and booster seat has a different set of requirements for use that may include age, height, and weight requirements.
When a child reaches age 8 (regardless of weight) OR reaches 80 pounds (regardless of age), a properly fitted seat belt may be used instead of a child restraint / booster to restrain the child. However, keep in mind that the seatbelt may not fit properly even if the child is 8 years old or weighs 80 pounds. The law does require that children stay in a child restraint or booster seat until the seat belt fits properly on its own. Booster seats can only be used with lap and shoulder seat belts. Booster seats can never be used with a lap belt only. A child who weighs at least 40 pounds can legally be restrained using only a properly fitted lap belt if there is no lap and shoulder belt available for use with a booster seat.
Visit the North Carolina Department of Transportation website for more information.